Presentation

L - Birds back to Normandy,
An exceptional gathering of liaison aircraft of the Second World War

In the context of the 75th anniversary of the allied landings and the battle of Normandy, that will be celebrated in June 2019, preparations have begun for an exceptional commemoration. Indeed, this "quarter of century" anniversary is probably the last to which WWII veterans will participate.
From the 6th to the 9th June 2019, the association L-Birds back to Normandy will organise an unprecedented gathering of liaison aircraft, called L-Birds (L for Liaison). This gathering will bring together Piper L-4, Stinson L-5 Sentinel, but also rare L-Birds, or even for some, the unique flying one of its type in the world!
More than 50 liaison aircraft, all authentic and in their historical colors of 1939-45, will join Normandy from the four corners of Europe

L Birds in 1944, in Normandy - gathering Piper L-4 and L-5 Stinson
1944
L - Birds today, in Normandy - gathering Piper L - 4 and L-5 Stinson
2016

The peculiarity of this event is to bring together for the first time since 1945 an unprecedented number of liaison aircraft, real veterans, and representatives of different types of WWII aircraft, from all countries involved. Truly authentic (historically as visually) aircraft will contribute to the duty of memory of their owners and pilots. The diversity of the nationalities of participants, be it at the level of the pilots involved in the operation, as in the representativeness of the aircraft, is exceptional. With a strong message of reconciliation, they will be flown together by pilots of 14 different nationalities.

Nationalities of the participating drivers:

Nationalities

Multi-lingual communication:

Spanish flag

A gathering of authentic Piper L-4, but also some gems...

Added to the Piper L-4, which is today the most current WWII L-Bird, and of which the most authentic of Europe will be present, there will be:

  • The five Stinson L-5 Sentinel which represent almost all of this aircraft type in flying condition in Europe.
  • The only Piper L-14 in flying condition in the world (that will fly from Madrid)
  • The only Burma Auster Mark III remaining in the world.
  • Two rare Fieseler Storch
  • The unique Stinson VT-77 in Europe
  • The Fairchild 24 that once belonged to Louis Breguet after leaving the RAF in 1947

Fairchild 24 F-AZCI Stinson VT-77

Aeronca L-3

Auster Mk V PH-NET

error: Content is protected !!

Présentation

L-Birds back to Normandy,
Un rassemblement exceptionnel d’avions de liaison de la deuxième guerre mondiale

Dans le cadre du 75e anniversaire du Débarquement allié et de la Bataille de Normandie, qui sera célébré en Juin 2019, les préparatifs ont débuté pour une commémoration exceptionnelle. En effet, cet anniversaire « quart de siècle » est probablement le dernier auquel des vétérans de 1939-45 pourront participer.
Du 6 au 9 juin 2019, l’association normande L-Birds back to Normandy organise un rassemblement inédit d’avions de liaison, appelés L-Birds (L pour Liaison). Ce rassemblement réunira Piper L-4, Stinson L-5 Sentinel, mais aussi des L-Birds très rares, voire pour certains, aujourd’hui unique exemplaire au monde en état de vol!
Plus d’une cinquantaine d’avions de liaison, tous authentiques et dans leurs couleurs historiques de 1939-45, rejoindront la Normandie depuis les quatre coins de l’Europe.

 

L-Birds en 1944, en Normandie - Rassemblement Piper L-4 et Stinson L-5
1944
L-Birds aujourd'hui, en Normandie - Rassemblement Piper L-4 et Stinson L-5
2016

La particularité de cet évènement est de rassembler pour la première fois depuis 1945 un nombre jamais atteint d’avions de liaison, véritables vétérans, et représentants les différents types d’appareils utilisés pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale, tous pays confondus. La qualité authentique, historiquement comme visuellement, des avions présentés marque le devoir de mémoire dont font preuve leurs restaurateurs et pilotes. La diversité des nationalités des participants, que ce soit au niveau des pilotes participant à l’opération, tout comme dans la représentativité des appareils, est exceptionnelle. Portant un fort message de réconciliation, ceux-ci voleront ensemble, avec à leurs commandes des pilotes de treize nationalités différentes.

Nationalités des pilotes participants :

Nationalities

 

Communication multi-lingue:

Spanish flag

Un rassemblement de Piper L-4 authentiques, mais aussi de perles encore plus rares…

Aux Piper L-4, dont il demeure le plus d’exemplaires, et dont les plus authentiques d’Europe seront présents, s’ajouteront :

  • Les cinq Stinson L-5 Sentinel qui représentent la quasi-totalité des appareils de ce type en état de vol en Europe.
  • L’unique Piper L-14 en état de vol au monde (qui viendra de Madrid)
  • Le seul Burma Auster Mark III restant au monde.
  • Deux rarissimes Fieseler Storch
  • L’unique Stinson VT-77 en Europe
  • Le Fairchild 24 qui fut propriété de Louis Bréguet après avoir quitté la RAF en 1947

Fairchild 24 F-AZCI Stinson VT-77

Aeronca L-3

Auster Mk V PH-NET

error: Content is protected !!